Def Jam Recordings, announced the release of Rhythms of Zamunda – a collection of originals from African artists inspired by the highly anticipated comedy Coming 2 America set to be released on Friday March 5, 2021. 

Everything – Track 16 of the Pan African Soundtrack features fast-rising singer, rapper, songwriter & South African hidden gem Ricky Tyler.

Early last year Ricky signed to Universal Music Group/Def Jam Africa and dropped Thirty K’s the lead single of his debut album Small World.

The 14-track project which features Alpha P, M.I Abaga, Harvey, and Kly went on to be a major success with hit singles like, “Thirty K’s, “Everything” and “Peachnut.”

Speaking about the soundtrack in an exclusive with Variety, CEO of Universal Music South Africa and Sub-Saharan South Africa, Sipho Dlamini, says the following: “We wanted to bring our knowledge of the music from the continent that is coming up and affecting the youth globally — it’s not just Afrobeat…Much like the movie is about America on one side and Africa, we could draw on the African genres you would expect but you also have R&B, Hip-Hop, House, and so forth. “

Ricky is gearing up to shoot the official music video for ‘Everything’ set to be released in early 2021.

Hip Hop 411

View all posts