This Week’s Episode Features a Conversation With Angélique Kidjo, the 5 Hottest Tracks of the Week, Africa Rising and a Brand New Feature, ‘Loot Loves’!

Tune in to Africa Now Radio With LootLove This Sunday, June 13th at 2p Lagos/London / 3p Johannesburg/Paris / 6a LA / 9a NYC on Apple Music 1.

Cover Star Interview
Beninese singer-songwriter, actress and activist Angélique Kidjo joins LootLove via FaceTime on Apple Music 1 to talk about her latest track, “Africa, One of a Kind,” a collab with Mr Eazi and Salif Keita, from her latest album, Mother Nature. She also discusses why she chose to work with a new generation African artists on the album—including Burna Boy, Shungudzo, and Sampa The Great—along with the lessons they taught her; how music furthers the fight against police brutality, and how young Africans will change the future.

The Big 5
LootLove shares the 5 hottest new African tracks of the moment. This week’s selection includes new tracks from L.A.X & Davido; Rema; Nasty C; Cassper Nyovest feat. Abidoza & Boohle; and Sarkodie feat. Kwesi Arthur.

Africa Rising 
South African R&B star Joda Kgosi is latest artist featured from the Africa Rising playlist, a campaign which shines a light on the next generation of African superstars, and this week’s show features her two singles “I Miss You” and “Truth Is.” Listen HERE.

Loot Loves
A brand new feature is launching this week: LootLove chooses her favourite track of the week, taken from one of Apple Music’s African playlists. This week, she shines a spotlight on South African singer Mo$hpit Cindy and her single, “21st Century Luv,” as featured on Apple Music’s Africa Rising playlist. Listen HERE.

Tune in and listen to the full episode this Sunday, June 13th at 2p Lagos/London / 3p Johannesburg/Paris / 6a LA / 9a NYC on Apple Music 1 at apple.co/_AfricaNow.

Hip Hop 411

View all posts