This Week’s Episode Features a Conversation With Blxckie, the 5 Hottest Tracks of the Week, and Manu WorldStar’s Favourite African Proverb! 

Tune in to Africa Now Radio With Cuppy This Sunday, May 23rd at 2p Lagos/London / 3p Johannesburg/Paris / 6a LA / 9a NYC on Apple Music 1 

Cover Star Interview
South African trap star Blxckie joins Cuppy via FaceTime on Apple Music 1 to talk about his latest track, “Sika,” fresh off his debut album, B4Now. He also reveals how growing up in Durban shaped his musical journey, why he’s committed to rapping in Zulu, and the secret behind his name.

The Big 5
Cuppy shares the 5 hottest new African tracks of the moment. This week’s selection includes new tracks from MFR Souls feat. Mzulu Kakhulu, Khobzn Kiavalla & DJ T-Man SA; KekeLingo; Buju; King Promise; and AngĂ©lique Kidjo feat. Mr Eazi and Salif Keita.

Africa Rising 
Nigerian R&B singer chuXchu is latest Africa Rising cover star, a campaign which shines a light on the next generation of African superstars. Listen HERE.

Proverb of the Week
Congolese-South African artist Manu WorldStar shares his favourite African proverb—Only a fool tests the depth of a river with both feet”—reminding us to be mindful before we jump into any situation.

Mini Mix
In celebration of Africa Month, Cuppy finishes this week’s show with a mini-mix of Apple Music’s exclusive Manu WorldStar: Africa Month playlist, curated by the star and featuring his favourite tracks from across the continent. This week’s mix includes music from JAE5 feat. Skepta & Rema; Gemini Major feat. ANATII; Tekno, T-Low; and Tems.  https://apple.co/3ovC7kJ

Tune in and listen to the full episode this Sunday, May 23rd at 2p Lagos/London / 3p Johannesburg/Paris / 6a LA / 9a NYC on Apple Music 1 at apple.co/_AfricaNow.

Hip Hop 411

View all posts