Damon Albarn, Sho Madjozi, Moonchild Sanelly, Muzi, Infamous Boiz, Morena Leraba, BCUC, Zolani Mahola, Georgia, Ghetts, Gruff Rhys, Remi Kabaka 
Watch EP trailer video featuring track¬†‘NAYENA’ here¬†
Moonchild Sanelly, Morena Leraba and Muzi to join lineup at ‘Africa Express: The Circus’ show on 29 March
Part of Waltham Forest London Borough of Culture celebrations
New studio album coming this winter
Music collective Africa Express today announce the release of a brand new 4-track EP of electronic music titled MOLO. Listen here. 
MOLO Рthe Xhosa* word for hello Рis the meeting of musical minds which occurred when Africa Express travelled to Johannesburg for a week of discovery, collaboration, music-making and live performances. The trip saw artists including Damon Albarn, Blue May, Gruff Rhys, Georgia, Ghetts, Mr Jukes, Nick Zinner, Remi Kabaka, Otim Alpha and Poté come together with emerging and established stars of the buzzing South African music scene including Sho Madjozi, BCUC, Blk Jks, Infamous Boiz, Moonchild Sanelly, Muzi, Morena Leraba, Radio 123, Zolani Mahola (Freshly Ground) and Maskandi guitar legend Phuzekhemisi Рto complete an electronic album in just 7 days. 
That album is scheduled for release this summer on the newly created label Africa Express Records. More info to be announced soon. 
The track listing for the EP MOLO is: 
  1. Nayena ft Infamous Boiz, Morena Leraba, Moonchild Sanelly, Mr Jukes, Zolani Mahola, Remi Kabaka
  2. No Games ft Muzi, Ghetts, Sho Madjozi, Moonchild Sanelly, Poté, Radio123
  3. Xhosa ft. Moonchild Sanelly, Otim Alpha, Damon Albarn, Blue May, Georgia, Nick Zinner, BCUC, Blk Jks
  4. Vessels ft. Phuzekhemisi, Gruff Rhys, Muzi, BCUC
On 29¬†March,¬†Africa Express¬†will play a sold-out¬†one-off gig in a circus tent in Leytonstone to headline the Waltham Forest London Borough of Culture celebrations.¬†South Africa’s¬†Moonchild Sanelly, Morena Leraba, Muzi are set to perform
New names confirmed to join the line-up are: Afrikan Boy, Dennis Bovell, Dobnet Gnahore, Georgia, Jockstrap (Georgia Ellery), Kinshasa Sound System, Khaladjula, Krar Collective, Michael Kikuwanu, Poté, Slaves, The Turbans, Terry Reid, Toya Delazy, Tony Allen and Yasmine Hamdan.
Participating artists already confirmed for the Waltham Forest show include: Batida, Damon Albarn, Django Django, Ellie Rowsell (Wolf Alice), Gruff Rhys, Imarhan, Joan As Police Woman, Mista Silva, Moonchild Sanelly, Morena Leraba, Muzi, Onipa, Rokia Traoré, Sibot and The Good, The Bad & The Queen
To pre-order MOLO, visit https://africa-express.lnk.to/Molo
For further information, call Maria McCloy 0823400262

Hip Hop 411

View all posts